• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Chess

Cher_Ami

I am essentially self-taught, which led to an amusing situation where a family member had to tell me I could not checkmate with a single bishop and king after trying to do it for 30 minutes. Between digital and physical versions, I own over 600 chess books and have taught chess in 3 different religious buildings (despite being an atheist) and 2 libraries. Tournament-wise I won a few club championships in my area won although focus issues, anxiety, and needing to have a job stunted my rating around a low-expert rating. I later became a tournament director and ran a 2-day, 75+ player event alone (and slept 10-12 hours each day after that), as well as become an assistant manager for a team in the first year of the PRO Chess League.

The combination I am most proud of came from this position (White to Move):

dafwg0i5ph8y.png

SOLUTION:
My opponent just played Bg7?, but I played

1. Nxe5! , because the Queen has to defend d8 (they had to play Rxd3 first)