• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Introducing Myself

Gratiaetnatura

V.I.P Member
Hi, I am a philosophy professor and creative writer in North Carolina (originally from Tennessee). I was diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome as an adult in my forties, and that made sense of much of my behavior: awkwardness around people, being overly blunt, having obsessive interests, disdaining small talk, not looking people in the eye--and more. I'm posting a link--please do not take this an an ad--I'd rather you read the interview and gain some insight into the things I dealt with growing up with Asperger's. It is embarrassing having to deal with obsessions and not being able to relate to people to the point that some people are turned off--thankfully not all, and I have improved in my ability to deal with people. Today I sometimes think that I'm not the one who is odd--the so-called "normal" people are the ones who are odd. :D Novelist Offers Insight into Asperger's Syndrome - National Entertainment | Examiner.com

Hello and welcome to AC! overly blunt? Moi? :D most definitely it is the vast majority of these hairless monkeys roaming the planet who are odd, not us!!

'xcuse me when I go throw another banana!

:bounce: