• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

New to the site & to diagnosis (female/adult/USA)

Poppet

(I actually am copy/pasting my "intro" post from wrongplanet(dot)net over to here... I guess you could say I am testing the water with different ASD forums to see which one I want to spend my time on!)

Hi everyone, I'm new to the forum and pretty new to everything ASD (in terms of having a word for it, not new to my own life!:catface:) I was just recently diagnosed this past month after several years of researching and then finally deciding I needed to go in to get an official diagnosis. It feels great to finally have some clarity and certainty about myself and my future. I just told my parents in the form of a very long letter included in a fairly bulky package (tons of info about ASD so they'd have good resources to learn about it), and I feel like a weight has been lifted off my shoulders. I'm still feeling really uncertain about how to proceed in terms of if I should tell any of my other friends and family. I have a fiance and of course he's been there every step of the way... I also feel that I should talk to my siblings about it, especially since my bro is probably on the spectrum as well... I'm an adult and live with my fiance about 15 hours away from my family, so it's a bit awkward to just bring these