• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

What are everyone's thoughts on high school???

Who agrees with Temple Grandin's theory on autistic people thinking like animals???

• I do

Votes: 3 16.7%
  • I don't

Votes: 2 11.1%
  • I've never heard of it

Votes: 13 72.2%

• Total voters

Horsegirl

It's my first year next year, and I'm just wondering if anyone has any pointers for me? I mean, most people I talk to say "Oh, you'll love high school!" Those people are probably wrong for two reasons.
1. They are my parents so they are just trying to make me less nervous.
2. They have no idea what it's like to be autistic.
So of anyone has any suggestions please post:D

1) Don't believe the "High School will be the best Years of your Life!" people; it's a classical BS catch phrase and they're just trying to hype you up; it gets rather boring after a time. Also no, you DO NOT have to nor are you expected to, use Cursive/Handwriting. Some teachers may ask that you do because they're that old school, so if you aren't very good at it, I say Practice until it looks both eligible and acceptable.