• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Workplace discrimination?

Clarebear

Hello everyone, my apologies if I’m posting this in the wrong space. I had a very disturbing interaction with my boss today and I would greatly appreciate your thoughts on it. Please be kind.

I work as an arts teacher for a non-profit organization. For the past 3 years I have been celebrated for my hard work and reliability. They are aware that I am on the spectrum and struggle with some things that are insignificant for neurotypical folks, but it is nothing that affects my overall performance as a teacher but it does make the job more exhausting for me.

Today when speaking to my boss “Fran” about a minor issue she was upset that I had gone through our liaison to relay the info to her instead of going to her directly but she has always been very unapproachable. When I tried to explain my difficulties with communicating she cut me off and then said that “we have two other autistic employees that have it worse than you who don’t struggle with this issue.” 😳 The she told me that I was expected to be an “adult.” 😭😳 I took this to mean that she was belittling my neurodivergent struggle.