• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

How to get people to accommodate my auditory processing issues.

Isa e Pally

So, I hear a lot “you don’t look autistic”, and even when people believe I am autistic, they tend to ignore my needs for accommodations. I am a young researcher and I work at university, and I have auditory processing issues which make it impossible for me to follow oral academic discussions. I can follow normal conversation though (except for word spellings), so I guess that’s why people don’t take me seriously. I have asked multiple times to people to write formulas at the blackboard while they talk, but they just don’t do it: they keep talking and talking and for me it is as if they spoke a different language.

The best solution I came up with, is to record our conversations, but it is not optimal as listening them afterwards and rewinding them is very time consuming.

Also, I don’t manage to just show how lost I am during the discussion, as I feel that people wouldn’t believe/understand it, hence they would just think I am dumb. So people just believe I am following. I wouldn’t even know how to show my distress, and anyway they wouldn’t take me seriously, or they would just get annoyed (and there is a power imbalance between senior professors and a young researcher).