• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Seeing a Therapist For The First Time

Dillon

I had decided to make a decision last week on Thursday that I’ve never done before and that is to see a therapist. I see my therapist on Monday of this week and I felt kind of embarrased to even go to one as I’ve never really had to see one for the exception of highschool but with many things going on lately such as unemployment, going through health issues, burnout and feeling isolated/sheltered I decided that it’s best to see someone.

Out of the blue though earlier Sunday I get a call from my therapist which was a chat that lasted almost 30 minutes. We did introductions in which my therapist is also neurodivergent and I thought that made things pretty relatable. The call went good and way more supportive and engaging than what my counselor would’ve done at my University.

I guess just some insight but given that this will be my first in person visit with a therapist what did any you expect when seeing a therapist? Did therapy help you in anyway long term?