• Welcome to Autism Forums, a friendly forum to discuss Aspergers Syndrome, Autism, High Functioning Autism and related conditions.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Private Member only forums for more serious discussions that you may wish to not have guests or search engines access to.
    • Your very own blog. Write about anything you like on your own individual blog.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon! Please also check us out @ https://www.twitter.com/aspiescentral

Companies that specifically seek autistic employees

What does "not-for-profit social enterprise" actually mean?

I work in IT.
There are a lot of HFA's and "ASD-adjacent" people in IT, because of the characteristics mentioned at that link. So the idea seems fine. And mixing ASD IT professionals and others could work well.

But with the right mix, you'd expect to make a profit. And potentially create a solid, stable, business.

But I don't think you could make a profit without some professionals. And it's an area where AI will certainly replace low-end tasks quite soon, so you'd need a process for making untrained/inexperienced people good enough to use the AI tools, rather than do the same things.

BTW this isn't an argument against subsidized organizations. But it's always difficult. It's much better to create a competitive business with a special case for hiring (i.e. preferring a specific group, which is often illegal (though maybe not in Oz)).

Think of the effects on local low-tech clothing industries when rich countries give away old clothing. It's a classic example of "the Law of Untended Consequences".